Nephite Books Listed Chronologically


Nephite Books Listed Chronologically

Publication Type


Year of Publication






Foundation for Ancient Research and Mormon Studies


Provo, UT

Terms of use

Items in the BMC Archive are made publicly available for non-commercial, private use. Inclusion within the BMC Archive does not imply endorsement. Items do not represent the official views of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints or of Book of Mormon Central.

Bibliographic Citation

John W. Welch, Jasmin G. Rappleye, Welch, John W., and Welch, Greg. "Nephite Books Listed Chronologically", Vol. 2-25. Provo, UT: Foundation for Ancient Research and Mormon Studies, 1999.


The Nephites lived in the Americas from approximately 600 B.C. to A.D. 385, a period of about one thousand years. Moroni survived his people and buried the plates around A.D. 421. Throughout their history, the Nephites kept historical and doctrinal records. This graph shows which centuries each Nephite book covers, presenting Nephite chronology as a whole. Three periods of Nephite civilization receive the greatest attention: the founding (sixth century B.C.), the flourishing (150 B.C.–A.D. 50), and the final years (fourth century A.D.).

© 2024 Scripture Central: A Non-Profit Organization. All rights reserved. Registered 501(c)(3). EIN: 20-5294264